Community Development

During COVID-19:

Dublin Civic Center and the Community Development Department are open for business providing services in person, online, and over the phone. The City is accepting Planning and Building permit applications online, processing, and issuing permits. Staff is available to provide customer assistance in person, online, and via the telephone during normal business hours. We also continue to perform all building inspections. Please note that all Safety Protocols as ordered by the County Health Order shall be in place. For those who have general Building and Planning questions, please email us at:


The Community Development Department in made up of three divisions:

  • Building and Safety Division - Coordinates plan checking and inspection services
  • Housing Division - Administers various housing programs and opportunities, and enforces Inclusionary Zoning Regulations
  • Planning Division - Administers the General Plan, Specific Plans, Zoning Ordinance, and other community development policies established by the City Council


The Community Development Director oversees functions of the various divisions and supervises the department, which consists of 26 people staffed throughout the three divisions.